Palmer, AK: Matanuska Electric Association announces the Board of Director candidates and Bylaw Change recommendations featured in 2017’s election. This year’s election features candidates to fill one seat each from the Eagle River (Eagle River, Birchwood, Chugiak, Peters Creek and Eklutna) and Matanuska (Palmer, Butte, Sutton, Chickaloon and Glacier View) districts along with two proposed Bylaw change recommendations.

Eagle River District Candidates:
Ted Carlson
David Glines (Incumbent)

Matanuska District Candidates:
Mark Masteller
Marvin Yoder (Incumbent)

Bylaw Proposition 1:
Change board candidate withdrawal timeframe.

Bylaw Proposition 2:
Adjust language of Association record request to reference applicable state law.

All election materials were sent to members March 31. All votes must be received by April 24 at 5PM. Two online voters will be selected to win a year of free electricity (or 10,000 kWh, whichever comes first). The Annual Meeting will occur on Tuesday, April 25 at Raven Hall on the Alaska State Fairgrounds. Doors open at 5:30PM and the business meeting will begin promptly at 6:30PM. Every registered member in attendance will receive a $10 credit on their electricity bill and the chance to win door prizes.

For more information, election materials or event details, visit