MEA’s Spotlight on Safety Contest

Finalists for the 2017 Spotlight on Safety Contest are listed below. Prizes were distributed at the MEA Annual Meeting on April 25 at Raven Hall on the Alaska State Fairgrounds. For additional information on the contest, please contact Community and Member Relations Coordinator, Kierre Childers, at

Written category winners

1st place: Kate Garland, Sherrod Elementary (click here to view Kate’s entry)

Story about a kid named Matt who learns the importance of electrical safety

2nd place: Lexie Lubbers, Cottonwood Creek Elementary (click here to read Lexie’s poem)

Electrical Safety poem

3rd place: Teighton Clark, Sherrod Elementary (click here to see Teighton’s message)

Humorous safety message about not overloading outlets and how water and electricity don’t mix


Visual category winners

1st place and Grand Prize Winner: Savannah Sparrs, Machetanz Elementary (click here to view Savannah’s poster)

Call MEA to save the day poster

2nd place: Kennedy Hull, Meadow Lakes Elementary (click here to see Kennedy’s safety facts)

Safety facts

3rd place: Hunter Eckard, Academy Charter (click here to view Hunter’s poster)

Posterboard showing electrical home safety with some 3D elements


There were no submissions in the Wild Card category.

Grand Prize Winner Savannah Sparrs’ entry, Call MEA to Save the Day