MEA Scholarships

The 2017 scholarship application period has closed. Information on the 2018 scholarship application will be available by February 2018.

2017 Scholarship Winners

Isaac Smolden

Isaac Smolden

Houston High School

$7500 Scholarship Winner

Ashlynn Burgess

Ashlynn Burgess

Family Partnership Charter School

$5000 Scholarship Winner

John Burton

John Burton

Palmer High School

$2500 Scholarship Winner

Information about MEA Scholarships

In 2017, awards were distributed in the amounts of:

  • (1) – $7,500
  • (1) – $5,000
  • (1) – $2,500

* One scholarship is awarded to a student pursuing education at a vocational school.

In 1990, MEA’s Board of Directors created the Scholarship Foundation. The annual earnings from this fund provide scholarships to MEA members and their dependents, graduating high school students and college students. A scholarship committee made up of MEA members from various professions and communities review and select scholarship recipients based on their applications. Scholarship applicants are asked to complete a financial plan and a short essay regarding the importance of member-owned cooperatives to both the student and the community.

The applicants and/or their parents/legal guardians must be active MEA members.

For additional information on the scholarship program, or to express interest in service on the Scholarship Committee, please e-mail or call 761-9284.

Other Scholarship Opportunities

Alaska Power Association Hank Nikkels Scholarship for Engineers

Alaska Power Association (APA) offers scholarship opportunities and textbook stipends for Alaska residents attending college in Alaska who are studying engineering. APA is the statewide trade association for the electric utilities that supply power to more than a half-million Alaskans in communities from Barrow to Adak, through the Interior and Southcentral, and down the Inside Passage. The 2017 application is available here.