Election and Annual Meeting

One of the great benefits of our electric co-op is that we are led by our members.

From our Bylaws to our Board of Directors, how we power our communities is up to us!

Each April, we hold our annual membership election and our annual membership meeting. Members that would like to run for the open Board of Directors seats can apply in January, with the election in April. Members will receive their voting materials by mail and/or electronically at the end of March and early April.

2023 Annual Election

This year’s full membership election saw an 11.5% voter turnout. Among members who voted, 42% voted online using their SmartHub account while 57% voted by mail-in ballot, and 1% of voters voted in-person at the Annual Meeting. The preliminary election results can be reviewed at this link, and election results will be certified at the regular Board of Directors Meeting on Monday, May 8, 2023 at 4:00 p.m. at Palmer Headquarters.

There were two At-Large Board of Directors seats up for election. The candidate with the most votes was Dan Tucker, and the candidate with the second most votes was Anastasia Buretta. Per MEA Board Resolution No. 2088 regarding staggered board seat terms to reduce significant yearly turnover, the At-Large Seat candidate with the most votes in this election will serve a 4-year term, and the candidate with the second amount of most votes will serve a 3-year term.  

2023 Annual Membership Meeting

This year’s Annual Membership Meeting was held on Tuesday, April 25th, 2023 at 6:00 p.m. at the Palmer Train Depot. Members could attend the meeting either in person or on Zoom.

2022 Annual Meeting Minutes can be found here.

2023 Annual Meeting Agenda can be found here.

You can watch a recording of the 2023 Annual Meeting by clicking here.

Click to Review the 2023 Election Results

Want to serve your co-op? Join the Election or Bylaw Committees!

If you are interested in serving on the committee to help with our annual membership election process or Bylaws, please fill out and submit the committee application (.pdf)

District Map

MEA Board Districts Map

No items found.